Gay and Lesbian Friendly CCRCs

Housing discrimination is illegal, and some states explicitly protect the rights of gay and lesbian citizens.

Legal, however, doesn’t necessarily equate to welcoming.

As a result, we are now seeing CCRCs targeted to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) communities.

The first one to offer the full continuum of independent, assisted living, and dementia care was Fountaingrove Lodge at https://fountaingrovelodge.com/ in Santa Rosa, CA.

The Gay & Lesbian Association of Retiring Persons (GLARP) has been planning its own CCRC in Palm Springs, CA, called GLARP Desert Ranch Retirement Development.

For general information on the National LGBT Elder Housing Initiative visit https://www.sageusa.org/what-we-do/national-lgbt-housing-initiative/.

Here are the communities I know as of this writing:

Arizona — The Pueblo in Apache Junction at https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Pueblo-Home-Owners-Association/154382214599759 is a women-only community.

California — Sunny on the West Coast – Stonewall Gardens in Palm Springs at http://www.stonewallgardens.com/ and Triangle Square in Hollywood which caters to low income and  HIV/AIDS seniors at https://www.trianglesquareapts.com/.

Florida — The Palms of Manasota in Palmetto at https://palmsofmanasota.net/ and The Resort on Carefree Boulevard in Fort Myers at https://www.resortoncb.com/ which is a women-only RV park.

Illinois — Townhall Apartments in Chicago at https://www.heartlandalliance.org/housing/our-properties/town-hall-apartments/ which offers apartments for low-income seniors.

Maryland — Asbury Methodist Village in Gaithersburg at http://www.asburymethodistvillage.org/.

Massachusetts — The Residences at Seashore Point in Provincetown at http://www.seashorepoint.org/ is a condominium community open to gay and straight residents.

New Mexico — RainbowVision at http://www.rainbowvisionsantafe.com/, an assisted living community in Santa Fe, NM; and Birds of a Feather at http://www.birdsofafeather.com/our-community/our-vision.html, also in Santa Fe, NM;

North Carolina — Carefree Cove in Zionville at http://www.carefreecove.com/.

Oregon — Rainbow Vista in Gresham, an over 55 apartment community at http://www.rainbowvista.com/.

Pennsylvania — John C. Anderson apartment building in Philadelphia at http://pennrose.com/properties/john-c-anderson-apartments/, which caters to the low-income LGBT community. It opened in 2014 with a 100-person waiting list.

Washington — Discovery Bay Resort on the Olympic Peninsula, another women-only RV community but without its own webpage.

Please follow and like us: